Women Supporting Each Other – Vol 5

This is a women in business series that will post every Monday for a few months.

I find it so important for women to network, to share tips and tricks, and to spread the love they have for each other with support and encouragement. This series will share some of my girlfriend’s passions with others and allow my readers the chance to get to know a product or business. I hope you all enjoy the series!

Lisa Brandon – Custom Diaper Cakes

FB_IMG_1496752580486

I have been lucky enough to know this awesome lady since I was young, as fellow member of our church youth group and school friend. Unfortunately in moving away from our hometown, I lost touch with her. Thanks to the connection of Facebook, however, we get a chance to keep in touch. Because of that, she has shared this amazing new journey she is taking, and I am sharing it with you!

Lisa is a dedicated mom, wife and teacher that has turned her love of children and her creativity into something amazing! Here are Lisa’s answers to the series’ regular questions.elephant

Q: What is the product/ company that you are working with?

A: Custom diaper cakes for baby showers or just a super cute gift

 Q: What made you start doing this?

A: The first cake I made was for my cousin’s first born. I saw the idea on Pinterest, but once I was done I thought “Wow, this is way cuter than the ones I pinned”. I made a second cake for a baby shower I hosted for a friend, a third, a fourth and so on. Each time one was created my husband encouraged me to try to sell them; I mean why not? They’re cute and fun to make. With my most recent cake, I made an iMovie of the process and shared it with some co-workers. I started realizing how unique they are compared to the current market. With the anticipation of the upcoming shower, I knew it was worth a shot. So, here I am, day two, and I can’t wait to get the orders!

 Q: What is the one thing that makes you stay with it?

A: Stay with it? I feel like I’ve just began! Honestly, I think the enjoyment I see on people’s faces when they get their cake is always my favorite. It’s a great conversational piece for showers and the parents get loaded up with essential gifts for the baby.

 Q: What has working with this company or freelancing in this way allowed you to do that you couldn’t before?

A: At this point, I’m not really sure what it will allow me to do; I suppose anything I want. Knowing myself and my work ethic, I foresee it being something big if I invest my time and energy into it or it can be a small side job for extra cash to pay off my recent student loans. For now, its a new challenge, it makes me happy, and I’m able to connect with others.

 Q: Anything else that you really want to share about what you do or what you rep for?

A: People may ask what makes my diaper cakes different from the ones on Pinterest or other creators. These cakes are, or at least can be, 100% customized for the baby. Orders can be created directly from the gift registry. Also, other cakes are decorated with a few items for the baby, typically large bows, shredded paper, maybe a blanket and/or a onsie(s). The cakes I create have a few items that cannot be used: rubber bands, one ribbon per tier, and cardboard platform. Other than that, its all for the baby: pacifiers, feeding spoons, nail clippers, bibs, socks shampoo, toys…the ideas are really endless. They can be as big or small as a budget allows. I’ve created an easy order form to get the process started. Lastly, I’ve got experience in hosting showers and catering events. I’m not sure how this part of the plan will go, but I’ll offer up suggestions or help for those worrisome hosts, all they have to do is indicate it on the order form. Who knows, maybe I will help host or plan a few parties too.

Check out her iMovie here: https://youtu.be/7zeQeBfpzAk

catering

Help support this super lady and her adorable creations by ordering a custom baby diaper cake today! I know I cannot wait to hook up some of the mommy-to-be ladies I know! Just check out this super cute monkey cake! To order go to her Google doc at https://goo.gl/forms/Op3rHAwZiiPAGG063 or contact her at cake.babiez17@gmail.commonkey

Leave a Reply

