When A Memory Brings A Smile

There are certain moments that stick with you. You know, the ones that made you laugh so hard you cried, a first kiss, meeting someone that changed your life, and those goofy spontaneous moments that turn into magic!1006411750-tumblr_ll6uebASO71qe31xzo1_500

I remember meeting the Hubs for the first time. I remember what I was wearing, what he was wearing, where we were, and who else was there. I can actually close my eyes and see it all just like it was yesterday. I can almost smell the sun and ballfield dust still.

I remember going out to dinner after, I remember staring at him (and getting caught staring at him by the current boyfriend), I remember it all. I should have known then that we would travel through life together.moment-memory-the-fabulous-times-positive-quote

I remember one time when the Hubs and I came home from a night out and the night was so clear we just stood out on the front stoop of our little quadplex and stared at the stars. It was the first time we had done anything like that.

My memories aren’t all with the Hubs though. I have this one, this one amazing moment that was so not like me but was one of the most freeing and spontaneous moments. You know the type, the type that when you think back, a smile spreads across your face!

images (6)I had met an old high school friend for happy hour. It wasn’t a big deal, but we hadn’t seen each other in quite a while and we picked right up where we had left off. I got caught up on their little one, work, and the constant dreams of becoming something more. I caught them up on the Hubs and I and our lives. It was a nice chat. P.S. That is how you know you have a good friend; you can go a long time with no contact and then pick right back up where you left off. LOVE IT!

downloadAnyway, after drinks, I decided to take a drive through the old neighborhood. We got in my car and I drove figure 8s through residential streets remembering ball games and kisses with boys, practices and friend’s houses. Then, we pulled up to one of the parks we had spent a lot of time in during high school. We got out of the car and just started wandering through the park.

It was about 10 o’clock at this point. Just dark enough that the glow of the park lights were fuzzy with reflections of evening dew. Just then the soccer field erupted with cascades of water flowing from the sprinklers. It was warm so I took off running through the giant waterfall. I spun and twirled and ran! My smile was instantaneous. I couldn’t help but giggle and laugh like I was a little kid again.

Best_SprinklerBreathless, I arrived back to the sidewalk next to my friend and we just looked at each other and began to chuckle. We would normally never have just cut loose like that, but apparently we both needed it. I dropped my friend at their house and pulled a shirt I just happened to have in the trunk out to ride home in. All the way home I grinned, I had enjoyed myself and totally took myself by surprise.

ill-look-back-on-this-and-smile-because-it-was-life-and-i-decided-to-live-it

I try to let these moments feed my spirit, especially when I am sad or having a rough day. What are your special moments that bring a smile to your face?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

