I Am a Great Cheerleader, but a Lousy Doer

I love encouraging people! I love giving advice and being someone that listens to her friends.

Need someone to encourage your workouts or weight loss? I am your girl!

Need a friendly shoulder to cry on during a rough time? I have a great shoulder!

Need someone to tell you how wonderful you are? Well I can do that for sure (And you are pretty great)!

But truth be told I am terrible at following my own advice!

peanuts-blogging-advice-770x433

I think part of it is that I love the feeling of being helpful. I love providing for people and caring for them. But when it comes to myself, well I just don’t take that much time to care for me. Well, I found this awesome blog post about how to follow your own advice and I just had to share (check out the post to dig a little further):

1) Remember that your experience and memories will never lie

2) Reject anything that doesn’t apply to you

3) Be uncomfortable and apply

4) Don’t repeat the same mistake i.e. if you want different results, do something different

5) Stand up for yourself 

6) Go back to your heart

7) Be in good company

8) Embrace the entire processdownload (2)

Check it out. I know that I am going to try to spend a little more time on myself. I will still be here to support my friends and I will always be a listening ear, but I will also be a little more conscious of my own needs and listening to myself too.

Are you the caregiver, the encourager, the leaner-onner? (Yes, I know that is not a real word) What advice do you hand out that you are not willing to take yourself? What is one step to paying a little more attention to your own advice for use in your own life that you are willing to try?

Recipe:

 StrawberryLemonadeMiniCheeseCake
  • Ready in: 3 hours, 30 minutes
  • Prep time: 10 minutes
  • Chill/Cook time: 3 hours, 20 minutes
  • By: Tastefully Simple
  • Servings: Makes 9 servings.

 

 

ingredients

  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 3 large eggs
  • 12 vanilla sandwich cookies
  • 4 ounces frozen non-dairy whipped topping, thawed
  • 1½ cups fresh assorted berries

directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. In large bowl, using an electric mixer on LOW, combine first 2 ingredients until well-blended; add eggs, one at a time, until blended.
  2. Line a 12-count muffin pan with 12 paper liners; place one sandwich cookie in the bottom of each. Divide batter evenly among the liners.
  3. Bake 18-20 minutes or until centers are almost set. Cool; chill 3 hours or up to overnight.
  4. Just before serving, top with whipped topping and fruit.

Makes 12 mini cheesecakes.

Variation: Instead of the sandwich cookies, crush 36 vanilla wafers, placing 1 tablespoon in the bottom of each muffin liner; reserve the remaining crumbs to sprinkle on top of whipped topping. Continue as directed above.

 

2 thoughts on “I Am a Great Cheerleader, but a Lousy Doer

Leave a Reply

