“Never Dull Your Shine For Somebody Else”

I heard this quote the other day and it was like one of those Oprah “Ah Ha Moments”. Not that this is a new thought, but that it was a reminder at a perfect time. There are so many of these amazing quotes that remind us that we are perfect just as we are and that bring feelings of joy, hopefulness, positivity, and confidence.

I have those dark and gloomy days. I have the “case of the Mondays” sometimes just like everyone else. If you have read some of my other posts, you know I fight my demons just like others do, but there is always room for a boost!

I have a few of these that are always on my phone. I send them to friends when they need a boost, as a reminder to myself for those dark moments, I post them here on my blog, and I put them on Facebook as a positive affirmation for the day. Here are some of my favorites!

befunky-collage2

What sayings or quotes help you through the rough days? Lets lift each other up today and share those things that help bring a little sunshine to the darkness.

Recipe:

Chicken Soup with Lemon and Orzo Pasta (adapted from Trisha Yearwood’s recipe)

th-2Ingredients

  • 1 medium carrot, chopped
  • 1 medium parsnip, chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped 
  • 1/2 medium onion, grated
  • 1 quart unsalted chicken stock 
  • 1/3 cup orzo pasta (can use rice in place of orzo)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 12 ounces boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 2 split breasts), cut into 1/2-inch pieces or can use fully cooked left-over rotisserie chicken (shredded)
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1/2 cup frozen edamame (optional)
  • 1/2 cup white cannellini beans (optional)
  • 4 cups loosely packed baby spinach 
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice 
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest

Combine the carrots, celery, parsnip and onions. Cook until just starting to get brown bits on the edges. Add chicken stock and 2 cups water in a large pot. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat.

Add the orzo and 1/2 teaspoon salt, reduce the heat to a simmer and cook until the vegetables and orzo are tender, about 10 minutes.

Toss the chicken with 1/2 teaspoon salt and a few grinds of pepper, then add to the soup along with the peas and optional edamame and cannellini beans. Simmer until the chicken is just cooked through, 5-7 minutes. Add the spinach and cook, stirring, until just wilted.

Off the heat, stir in the lemon juice and zest and season with salt and pepper to taste.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment