I Don’t Care What You Want!

What the hell has happened to our kids!?! Is there a reason that kids feel like the value of a dollar means nothing or that asking for inappropriate gifts is acceptable? Seriously, what has happened? I try not to make a big deal out of something if it happens just once or with one spoiled child, but this is a repeated offense by many age groups and different children.

Remember when Veruca Salt in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory was such a rotten brat that we could not believe how she acted? Well, look around; she is everywhere! entitlement-cartoon

At Christmas time I was asked for a dirt bike, a hover board, brand new Nike tennis shoes, $500 cash, gaming consoles, and much more! I try to take a deep breath and explain calmly that I am not rich, that I have 9 children that I buy gifts for, and that a more appropriate gift to ask for is under $50. I explain so that maybe the calm reasoning sinks in and the greediness will cease. images-41

However, it doesn’t stop! It’s birthday time now, and the wish list is just as pricy. Now at 9, 10, or even 11 years old, I can understand this loss of memory from only a few months ago. But when my 24 year old daughter (who works for a living and is on her own, so she knows the cost of bills and rent and such) asks for a $400+ dollar birthday gift, it wrecked my day!

Now, because she is states away and because she has a bit of a distant relationship with us, I often bite my tongue and refer to her father. Not this time! I told her that it was really hurtful that she put such a high expectation on us and that when I gave her examples like bathroom towels or a makeup pallet that should have triggered the $50 limit. images-40

The most surprising part of the conversation was this; she repeatedly told me that she did not expect this large gift from us and that even a gift card to a used book store would be fine. Those more reasonable things, however, didn’t come to mind when I asked her what she wanted.

To be fair, I ended up having a good conversation over Facebook messenger with my daughter. I wish it had been in person or at least over the phone so that I could have gathered some detail from her tone but beggars can’t be choosers. She heard me out, I heard her out and at the end of the day, we were at least able to talk about it.

So is that the problem with this group of children? Is it not that they expect the large extravagant gifts, but we have taught them to ask for the world if that’s what they want so the smaller things don’t matter as much? Is it that they DO expect these BIG gestures because when that’s what they ask for we fold and get them that one big thing on their list? gratitude-and-entitlement

Gifts are not the only thing I have seen. Blatant disrespect, name calling, temper tantrums, and even physical violence are common scenes at public places. I have seens my nieces and nephews do it, I have seen my friend’s children do it, and I have seen complete strangers dealing with it. So what do we do? With the bigger ones, hopefully we can have a logical conversation but with the little ones what are our options?

I am asking that you join with me parents, grandparents, godparents, and people that have little ones in your life. I am asking that we

  • review wish lists / explain what an appropriate gift is
  • do charity work / teach them to give back
  • make them earn and spend their own $
  • talk to them about gratitude, thankfulness, and humility
  • encourage them to think of others
  • Not stand for disrespect, tantrums, and violence
  • Discipline our children
  • NOT GIVE IN TO THEIR EVERY DESIRES!

Recipe:

th-1

Breakfast Crescent Roll Ring (adapted from Pillsbury)

Serves: 3-5

Cook Time: 20-25 minutes

Ingredients

 4 eggs, beaten

2 tbps milk

Salt and pepper, if desired

1 can (8 oz) Pillsbury™ refrigerated crescent dinner rolls

1 cup shredded Mexican cheese blend (4 oz)

Additional Options: Crumbled cooked bacon, cooked sausage, diced tomatoes, diced bell peppers, cooked chorizo, cooked shredded hash browns.

*tip* Make all filling ingredients ahead of time and allow to cool completely. Have kids help by building their own ring or filling and folding sections of one ring.

Directions

  • Heat oven to 375°F. Line large cookie sheet with cooking parchment paper. 
  • In medium bowl, beat  milk, the eggs, salt and pepper with fork or whisk until well mixed. Pour egg mixture into skillet. As mixture heats, portions of eggs will begin to set. Gently push cooked portions with metal spatula to outside edge of skillet. Avoid stirring constantly. As more egg sets, push it to the edge and place it on top of the already set egg mixture. Cook 5 to 6 minutes or until eggs are thickened throughout but still moist.
  • Unroll dough; separate into 8 triangles. On parchment-lined cookie sheet, arrange triangles with shortest sides toward center, overlapping in star shape and leaving 4-inch round circle open in center (see diagram). Crescent dough points may hang over edge of cookie sheet. Press overlapping dough to flatten.
  • Sprinkle 1/3 cup of the cheese onto widest part of dough. Spoon eggs over cheese. Sprinkle with 1/3 cup of the cheese. Add any additional ingredients. Pull points of triangles over filling, and tuck under dough to form ring (filling will be visible). 
  • Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until deep golden brown. Cool 2 minutes. With broad spatula, carefully loosen ring from cookie sheet; slide onto serving platter. 

 

Leave a Reply

