Are You Faking it? I am!

Wait, wait, wait…it’s not what you are thinking. Well I guess it is that too but, only sometimes and that is totally normal. Now get your mind out of the gutter.

No, what I am talking about is life stuff. You know the health insurance, life insurance, refinancing, retirement, taxes, travel, savings, FAFSA, and all that stuff! I mean I don’t even balance my checkbook (and I think I just made my mom cry, sorry mom!). In my defense, I worked for the bank for many years and just got used to checking my account daily.istock_000008146560_small-570x225

Anyway, I feel like these are things I should understand or at least have a general knowledge about, but I really just don’t. I hear people talking and I just nod and smile. Sometimes in the midst of their speaking I fade off and think, “What on earth did I miss? Where the hell was I when these other people were learning this stuff?”

download-32

I was an ok student in high school, but I just don’t ever remember these conversations. We didn’t learn to balance a checkbook. We didn’t learn how to be financially responsible. Heck, if it wasn’t for an unfortunate series of events with the Columbia House 20 CDs for $1 or whatever, (of which I did not read the fine print nor did I understand the obligation to continue my subscription) I may not even understand that those things are NOT the world’s greatest deals! Even knowing what I know, I have looked at the Disney movie club thing that is precisely the same as that stupid CD deal of my young adulthood.

secretsAnyhow, my sister-in-law was talking the other day about transferring credit card balances to 0 interest cards in order to pay them off and not have interest payments. This literally blew my mind! What in the world is this about?! How does she know this secret and I do not. Was there a secret clubhouse I was denied access to?

Googling these things gives you 100 different articles to read. Half of those articles say things opposite as the other half. Should I save 1/2 my monthly income? Should I charge stuff on credit cards and pay it off or keep a balance? When booking travel, where do you get the best deals? Shouldn’t there just be a general life handbook?

 

I can’t be the only person that feels like they are faking it, right? I mean, what things do people around you seem to know that you are completely clueless about?

Recipe:

Cheeseburger Meatloaf (adapted from All-Recipes recipe )

Cheeseburger Meatloaf

Cheeseburger Meatloaf

Ingredients

  • 1 pounds ground beef
  • 1/3 cup  bread crumbs
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp A-1 steak sauce
  • 2 tsp McCormicks montreal Steak seasoning (or your favorite steak seasoning)
  • 1 tsp Lowry’s season salt
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder or 1/4 onion, minced
  • 2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
  • Drizzle of Ketchup & Mustard

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, combine tall but cheese and mix well. Pat out meat mixture into a 14×18 inch rectangle on a piece of wax paper. Spread cheese over the meat, leaving a 3/4 inch border around the edges. Roll up jelly roll fashion to enclose the filling and form a pinwheel loaf. Press beef in on both ends to enclose the cheese. Place in a 10×15 inch baking dish. Drizzle ketchup and mustard over top. ( I spread the ketchup over the top completely and then drizzle the mustard in a zigzag)
  3. Bake in the preheated oven 1 hour, or until internal temperature reaches 160 degrees F (70 degrees C).

 

Leave a Reply

