What Dreams Do You Still Have?

Do you remember when you were small and people would ask, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” It was so easy to say, “I want to be a doctor” or “a veterinarian” or “a fireman”. Well, I am a grown up and I did not become any of those things. So, now what?

bigstock-group-of-kids-in-uniforms-cost-15882509

I have to build that broad mind and “nothing is impossible” attitude back up. You know, the one that made being a doctor so easy to accomplish when you are eight. When is it when we look at that awesome goal as a more impossible goal to reach?

Well, I never thought I could go back to school but, I just graduated with my AA in Liberal Arts (at 35). Now I need to transfer to a four year college to complete my Bachelor’s degree. This means I need to buckle down and really consider my options and figure out what I want to be when I grow up.

screen-shot-2014-01-21-at-7-21-41-pm

 

Well, that is a big question! I want to be so many things. My answers are much different that when I was young but just as large. I want to finish school with a Bachelor’s in Marketing (digital marketing to be exact), I want to be able to use my love of photography, I want to explore my creativity, and I want to make a difference. The biggest thing to remember is that it is never too late to try.

images-33

So what was your dream job when you were eight? Why didn’t you follow that dream? How have your dreams changed? And what dream do you now have for yourself? It’s a new year, let’s help each other accomplish a new goal! It can be anything! Do you want to be a mommy, a store owner, or a chef? Nothing is impossible!

crhr4yruaaasef0

Recipe:

Cheesy Jalapeño Popper Baked Stuffed Chicken

IMG_8462.JPG

Ingredients:

2 Chicken Breasts, trimmed

1 Jalapeño, diced

4 oz low fat cream cheese

1/2 cup grated Monterey Jack cheese

1/2 cup unbleached flour

1 cup Panko bread crumbs

1 egg

1 tsp Mrs Dash Extra Spicy

1 tsp Cumin

1 tsp Chili Powder

Salt

Pepper

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375
  • Mix Mrs Dash Extra Spicy, chili powder, cumin, salt & pepper to make a seasoning mix.
  • Mix together diced jalapeño, cream cheese, jack cheese, a bit of the seasoning mixture together.
  • Cut small hole through top thick section of chicken, use finger inside to widen and deepen.
  • Stuff cheese mixture into the hole, being careful to not tear through the breast too much. Set to the side.
  • Set up dredging station (one dish with flour, one with egg *add a touch of water to thin out* and, one with breadcrumbs). Add the remaining seasoning between the flour and breadcrumb dishes. At this time, if you have a large hole you can place a toothpick through it to avoid all your filling from bubbling out.8535810838_c062f97000
  • Now batter your chicken. First in flour (shake off excess), then in egg, then in seasoned Panko.
  • Place on cookie sheet with wire rack. This will make sure the chicken is crispy all around.
  • Bake for 30-40 minutes
  • Serve with a side of rice and beans or a great side salad

You can also make these little additions to your chicken:

Don’t like it too spicy? – trade the jalapeño for red pepper.

Have the bottom bit of a bag of tortilla chips? – add them to your Panko crumbs (Doritos work too)

Lastly, you can add even more flavor to your cheese mix with some fire roasted corn, cooked & cooled chorizo, or Mexican mix cheese.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

