Taking a Break

This week is the first week of a new semester at school…and I am not there! I decided after going for six back to back semesters (including summer) and completing my AA degree, I would take a break. With work, school, photography, and Tastefully Simple along with the Hubs and Frankie needing attention; I thought this was the perfect time to have a little breather.

images-34

During this time, I have decided to actually relax a bit. If you haven’t noticed, I can sometimes be wound a little tight. So taking this time to calm down a bit is probably a lifesaver. Sometimes I feel totally lazy, but sometimes it is so refreshing to not have anything to do. Here are some of the things that I have done or am planning to do to help me relax.

  1. Exercise – this is #1 and the one I struggle with the most! I have a routine, I have workout DVDs, and I have more time….this shouldn’t be so hard to fit in, right?! Well, so far I have been slacking but I am making a schedule on my calendar and I WILL start a routine of exercise! I find that when I do exercise so much happens. I feel physically better, I have more energy, and I sleep better! So, this is something I have got to work a little harder at “making” time for.benefits-of-meditation-2
  2. Meditation – I love meditation! This does not have to feel weird. Just sit still for 5 minutes and breathe deep. Slowly breathe in, hold it for 2 counts,  slowly breathe out. Having to think about holding your 2 counts makes you stop thinking about other things and focus only on your breathing. Give it a try! Otherwise, I got a CD like this with my Stress Management class textbook and still use it: capturesa
  3. Salt Lamps – This is all the rage right now and while I have not tried it yet, it is on it’s way. I will update you all to how I like it after a few days. capture
  4. Essential Oils – I use these all the time! Before bed in my mister thingy, in recipes for bath bombs, and sometimes just on a kleenex. You can blend different scents or buy ones that are already mixed and formulated like this one for stress relief. Your sense of smell can trigger so much, may as well use it for relaxation too!captures
  5. Bubble Baths – Not that I normally love sitting in a hot tub (it’s never the right temp for me), but every now and then it can be a good escape. Heat can relieve tension and the quiet of the bath, as well as, the sounds of the water are soothing. Try using an oil or one of those bath bombs and just check out for a bit! bubble-bath
  6. Get Creative! – I am not a great artist but sitting with a canvas and some paint or an adult coloring book and some colored pencils is a great way to relax and fight anxiety. You don’t have to be good at it, no one even has to ever see it. Just give it a try.jenean-morrison-adult-coloring-book

 

I hope some of these things help take the edge off or allow you a few precious seconds of mind-numbing peace. Sometimes it’s important to just get out of your head and breathe. There are a lot of things going on in life, but they will still be there even if you take a moment of each day to relax. And, once you’re relaxed, you will be refreshed and able to take on those things even better. What do you do to relax? How do you feel when you take a moment for yourself?

66aec2409d8b4cab0a70825c38b2e647

 

 

Leave a Reply

