Sometimes you just have to cry.

Everyone has those days. You know, the one where you are on the verge of exploding. Anxiety, sadness, anger, and hurt all bubbling near the surface. Sometimes you don’t even know it but the craving to have a good cry is pulling at you.

A good cry can be listening to a certain song, reading a certain book, or watching a certain movie or show. For me, it’s all of the above! I have certain triggers in very specific songs, movies, and books that can fulfill those days that I need to let it all out.

Here is my list of good cry instigators: (this is by no means a complete list as I cry all the time but these are some of the “favorites”.)

Movies:

  • Steel Magnolias – this one gets me everytime! This is my go-to cry movie! The funeral scene makes me laugh, cry and scream right along with the four-some on the screen.
  • Divine Secrets of the YaYa Sisterhood – Reading this book or watching this movie makes the tears poor out. Most of the reason, for me, is the correlation between the character’s lives dealing with addiction to my own life.
  • Pay It Forward – such a great message wrapped in such a sad package! This reminds me that there is good in the world even in the darkest times.
  • Beaches – come on, is there anything sadder than losing your best friend?!
  • The Notebook – The amazing ending of a love of a lifetime, yup, gets me everytime!
  • Marley & Me – if you have ever lost a pet, you know why this one does it.
  • Stella – Bette Midler does it again with this amazing mom and daughter story. If you haven’t seen this, I promise it’s a great movie!

Books:

  • Room by Emma Donoghue – sad tail of a kidnapped child and mother from the child’s perspective.
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – Losing anyone is hard by a true love at such a young age, unbearable!
  • The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold – from the perspective of a murdered child from heaven watching as her family struggles after her death.
  • Does This Beach Make Me Look Fat? by Lisa Scottoline and Francesca Serritella – funny stories from a mother and daughter team but also very emotional memories of a lost loved one.
  • I’ll Love You Forever by Roger Knapp – this children’s book will always make me cry! The line, “I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always, As long as I’m living my baby you’ll be” may be the most heartfelt and sweet line I have ever heard!
  • Number the Stars by Lois Lowry – this holocaust story literally had me crying for hours after I read it.
  • Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz – this one may be a bit of a shocker coming from the king of suspense but the ending had me so broken I felt as if I would never stop crying!

Songs:

  • Hurt, Johnny Cash – Cash’s version of this song gives me goosebumps and makes my heart hurt.
  • Fix You, Coldplay – This strikes up many memories of the worse times from my mother’s alcoholism.
  • Gravity, Sara Bareilles – watch the “So You Think You Can Dance” dance that went with this song by Kayla & Kupono where he imitates addiction and you will see just how much this song hits home for me.
  • Jesus Take the Wheel, Carrie Underwood – I mean, doesn’t everyone get teary to this song?
  • Daniel, Elton John – this song reminds me of my uncle Tim who passed many years ago, but this song always strikes a chord with me.
  • All-American Girl, Carrie Underwood – This song is a mystery to me, but it never fails. When she is singing about their baby I am a puddle in my car!
  • Then, Brad Paisley – This one is a happy memory of my wedding day and my first dance with the Hubs.
  • Heaven, Live – This song has one line that makes me cry, “I don’t need no one to tell me about heaven I look at my daughter, and I believe.” Maybe because I hope that someone thought that about me.

Remember a good cry is good for you! It relieves stress and it allows your body to “get out” those pent up feelings. What is your “go to” movie, song, or written word that allows you your release?

 

Here’s a simple recipe that reminds me of my childhood and would go perfectly with a good cry.

Recipe: Hot Cocoa and buttered toast

cocoatoast.jpg

Ingredients:

1 pkg Hot Cocoa Mix or homemade recipe

4 slices white bread, toasted

LOTS of butter

Directions:

Make the cocoa

Toast the bread

Butter toast liberally

Cut buttered toast on diagonal

Dip toast into the cocoa and eat

photo-dec-20-12-52-33-am-e1324412510664

 

*This may sound totally crazy but my mom would make this for us growing up. The toast gets just soggy enough without falling apart and the salty butter on the toast with the yummy hot chocolate is delish! I know this is really not a “recipe” but it is one of those things that hits the spot when having a cry; chocolate, warm, simple!*

One thought on “Sometimes you just have to cry.

Leave a Reply

