Hi, my name is Sarah and I might be a Amazon-aholic.

Cue depressed monotone… “Hi, Sarah.”

Well, I might not be so single minded that I consider Amazon to be my only crutch. I also love LuLaRoe, Zulily, Wayfair, ETSY, and had a quick affair with RoseGal (don’t do it, no matter how cheap their stuff is!). Just like an alcoholic that may love their Miller Lite, they do not thumb their nose at a shot of vodka or a guzzle of Listerine if desperate enough.

Anyhow, there is nothing quite like seeing that sale price with the strikethrough “original price” next to it, having an item with a PRIME marker next to it and knowing that I can have my package in just under 48 hours, and having an email reminder of all the great things that are available “just for me” in my inbox begging for that mouse click that all make my heart beat a bit faster.

The topper to all of this though, knowing I do not have to go into a fitting room in a department store to try something on! I bet you thought I was going to say the awaiting packages at my front door, right? Well, while that is amazing, I hate the dressing room so that to me makes even spending $5 on a skirt that is too short and makes me look like I have cankles worth not being able to return because I avoided the shame and embarrassment of the dreaded FITTING ROOM!

Today the Hubs got home early from work (curse you darn mother nature!) and said,

“Well, what did you order this time?”

I said, “Hmmm, it could be a couple different things. What size is the box?”

“Seriously?”

“Yeah! It could be my hair growing shampoo and conditioner, it could be the silver box chain that I ordered to replace my one that broke, it could be the backseat cover that I got so that when my Frankie is in my leased car he doesn’t ruin the seats, or it could be my new boots…” (I am kind of glad he cut me off here because I didn’t tell him about the 5 bottles of wine, 2 tunics, 3 new pair of pants, Tennessee garden flag, or the hand painted wooden sign.)

“You may HAVE a problem!”

“No, I got them all on sale so it was a good deal and it is stuff we ACTUALLY need.”

Then he said something like, “Well, our neighbors said they think you are Christmas shopping already or becoming your very own distribution center, one or the other.”

…(thinks to self)… or they’re jealous I got such great stuff!

I think that may have been my denial kicking in. That is one of the signs of addiction, after all! Well, I guess I will just blame it on my dysfunctional family like every other addict, but at least I will have really cute boots for only $39.99 instead of liver failure and death…I think I am coming out ahead!

Here’s a really inexpensive dinner recipe for those “after shopping days”:

Simple Spicy Black Bean Soup

imag1216a

1 box Organic Spicy Black Bean Soup

2 cans organic low sodium black beans

1 tbsp Tastefully Simple Wahoo Chili seasoning (you can always sub this out with a combination of chili powder, cumin, smoked paprika, garlic powder, onion powder and cilantro)

2 tsp Cumin

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

Either throw all ingredients in a crockpot in the morning and cook on low for 6-8 hours or Pour all into pot on stovetop and simmer for 1 hour. This is a great base that you can add a ton of extras to! Try the tomatoes with green chilis, diced bell peppers, shredded chicken, a jar of corn and black bean salsa or veggie it up with summer squash, corn, zucchini, peppers, and onions. Then top with sour cream or salsa or both!

One thought on “Hi, my name is Sarah and I might be a Amazon-aholic.

Leave a Reply

