What have I gotten myself into this time!

Welcome! Thanks for finding my blog. I am very grateful for each and every person taking the time to read this.

For this first post I will give you a quick background on me. My name is Sarah and I am a thirty five year old with too much on my plate! I work full time, take a full time class load working toward a Bachelor’s degree, have a new (6 month old) rescue pit bull named Frankie, cook dinner five nights a week, am an independent consultant for Tastefully Simple, have a freelance photography business, am an aunt to 7 amazing nieces and nephews (and one great niece), am an adult child of alcoholic/addict parents, and happen to be childless – that is, unable to have them, suffer from chronic depression and low self-esteem (yes, I started with the much happier stuff to reel you in and then dumped some serious stuff on you. Hold on, keep going, I will come back around.), I am a wife, a caregiver, reality tv junkie, housemaid, party thrower and planner, and an avid baker! Really, I am just like everyone else, busy with all life throws at them and yet still finding time to pile more on.

IMAG0835_BURST009

Frankie the 6 month old adopted pit bull and the love of my life…sorry hubby! By the way – pictured with Frankie is Rocky Raccoon, he lasted about 19 seconds before being completely destroyed!

My life may be busy and I may take on a lot of extra things but I love every minute. I have amazing support all around me (most of these people you will hear about as time goes on, I am sure!) and these people help me juggle my crazy life as well as come up with some hair brained schemes too. There are ups and downs (and breakdowns) along the way but we have a lot of laughs and quite a bit of fun too.

IMAG0979

So enjoy this ride along with me. I will show you the tips and tricks I use to get through the day, share recipes and DIY ideas to make you look like a rock star, and hopefully give you a giggle or two to get through your day.

Tip for today’s post:

Crockpots! If you don’t own one get one, put it on your Christmas, Birthday, Anniversary, etc gift list and get ready to use the heck out of it (and hope you actually get one for each of those occasions, because there is never too many Crockpots)! I love the Crockpot and will share with you some of the easiest and quick dinner recipes on this blog (because who doesn’t love to eat)! Also, if you don’t already have a stockpile of Crockpot liners, get some now. Seriously now! I will be here when you get back. Want to save time scrubbing a pot, want to easily throw out the mess and juices from cooking, or do you want to simply transfer what is left in the pot to a storage container…this product serves all of those things! Wait, why are you still here? Go!

download-4

Crockpot Potato Soup:

1 bag frozen diced potatoes (the ones with or without onions and peppers, doesn’t matter)

1 8 oz brick cream cheese

1 can cream of chicken soup – or make your own (here is the recipe I love)

8-12 oz unsalted chicken broth

Salt and Pepper to taste

Optional add ins or toppers:

Cooked bacon, Cheddar Cheese, Diced Ham, Diced Chicken, Broccoli, Cauliflower, Carrots, Celery, Peppers & Onions..the sky is the limit!

Cook on Low for 6-8 hours

 

follow-up-thank-you-situations

Please feel free to contact me with any questions or comments on today’s post.

Here are some of the websites mentioned in today’s post:

The pet rescue we used for Frankie, Save-A-Bullhttp://saveabullmn.org/

My Tastefully Simple Consultant site: https://www.tastefullysimple.com/web/sthompson16

The Adult Children of Alcoholic site: http://www.adultchildren.org/

My photography portfolio: https://www.flickr.com/photos/saraht_photo/?

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “What have I gotten myself into this time!

  1. Becky says:

    Good morning, Sarah! Holy busy life!!! I had 66 e-mails awaiting me this morning. NO, I do not open my e-mails daily at home. Anyway, this was a fun read. Never heard of crock pot liners, but think I will pick some up today. If you can cook, so can I. LOL The potato soup looks amazing. Good luck with your blog. BTW, you is beautiful, you is smart, you is amazing!!!

    Like

  2. Kala says:

    It was fun to read your blog, keep sharing the updates on FB or is there a way I can sign up for updates? I have the crockpot liners and really need to start using them every time! I am excited to try out your simple recipes! Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  3. Michelle Sawatzky says:

    I made a big batch of sloppy joes on Saturday for our family picnic and I was so excited that it fit in my regular crock pot so I could use a liner and I thought of you!!
    It’s the little things that can make your day!!
    Love ya!!

    Like

    • thompsonhouseblog says:

      Thank Darci but I am not any more special than all us other crazy busy people! I just have a few funny stories to tell about it…and maybe some tips or recipes to help some others out.
      Big hugs back to you and thanks for reading! Stay tuned for the next one…coming soon

      Like

Leave a Reply

