Back up and at it. Again!

As most of you can relate, I am constantly on a diet! I have tried Weight Watchers, SlimGenics, and every pill created for slimming the waist. While some of these things do work, they only seem to work for a while. Then either my body gets used to the routine and quits working or I sabotage myself and dive head first into something fried because the abstinence has made me lose my damn mind! Well, here I go again. Diet time starts again and here is what I have to say about it.

Mostly I am a good eater except for those weak moments stemming from deprivation. I usually eat salads everyday and not the ones drenched with mayo or covered with cheese and fatty dressing. I focus my diet on white meat chicken, loads of veggies, fresh fruits, fish, nuts and seeds and I drink no pop. The problem for me is that my metabolism is actually dead. Seriously, it doesn’t work.

metabolism-funny

No matter how well I eat or how many pizza slices, chocolate banana malts, french fries, and cheeseburgers I skip, the weight does not just “melt” off. My hubs on the other hand can skip soda for a few weeks and drop 10 lbs. He can also eat McDonald’s and Totino’s pizzas everyday and not gain an ounce (partially because he works outside and partially because his metabolism is like the RoadRunner…”meep, meep!”).

Another issue is exercise. I hate it! I am one of the most uncoordinated people you will ever meet. The big joke in my house is that “Grace” is definitely not my middle name. Seriously, my legs look like someone threw stones at me because I run into everything. I cannot even begin to think what people think of me when I show up at the gym. You know that episode of Friends where Phoebe tries to go running with Rachel, I am Phoebe!

I carefully do Zumba in my living room. I find it fun and not too hard, however I still usually trip over the dog or my own two feet. I have also tried Slim in 6 and Country Heat workouts but Zumba, to me, is the most fun. As long as I can hit pause as my husband walks by, I am game to try it. I also enjoy going to yoga with my sister-in-law but I am not sure how much that counts as a workout since I usually don’t even break a sweat.

weight-socks

With all this being said today marks a new month to swear to eat strictly, exercise daily and not throw it all away at the sight of a slice of cheesecake or bowl of ice cream!

So, last night I roasted off a huge pan of veggies. This is something the Hubs despises. He sits downstairs with his collar of his shirt up over his nose and whines about it “smelling so bad, I am gagging!” and doing his best impersonation of Ludo, from the Labyrinth,”SMELL BAD!” for the entirety of their roasting.

200_s

Even though I am roasting them outside on the grill he swears that every time I open the door a little string of stink wiggles in like on a cartoon and wafts down the stairs, making a bee line to his nostrils (through the shirt remember). Once I am finally done I load them up in glass containers so as to not let the stink penetrate through a plastic container and there by contaminating all food in the fridge.

tumblr_m4lj7ctykc1r4x5x7

Thinking I have done a good job and set myself up for success, I then don’t know what to make for dinner! All this time spent chopping, prepping, and roasting and I never even thought to plan out what was for dinner. I can’t very well eat the hot roasted veggies I just made because then what would I have for lunch for the next 5 days and I would hate to put my husband through the misery of eating next to me with that stink assaulting him. I mean I don’t want to make him sick! So, I dial the pizza place down the street and swear to do better tomorrow. Hey, don’t judge! You know you would have done the same thing. Besides aren’t all diets supposed to start on a Monday or something.

images (12).jpg

How about you? Do you exercise? What is your diet like? No really, I want your tips and tricks! Let me know what works for you and how you enjoy foods that you love without the scale yelling at you.

 

imag1099

Recipe:

Oven Roasted Veggies

1 head broccoli

1 head cauliflower

4-6 whole carrots (organic if you can) I used the yellow, orange and purple mixed carrots just to make it pretty

2 handfuls of green beans

1-2 parsnips  – optional (also organic)

1 sweet potato (if small use 2)

1-2 tbsp olive oil or coconut oil (enough to coat the veggies)

1 tbsp Tastefully Simple Rustic Herb seasoning or Mrs Dash Original seasoning

Salt and pepper to taste (I use only Morton Lite Salt)

Onion powder / Garlic powder also optional

 

Cut all veggies up to approximately the same size

Toss with seasoning and oil to coat

Roast in oven @ 375 or on medium grill for 45-55 minutes

Variations (replace above seasonings with something different to mix them up):

*Spicy veggies: Onion powder, Mrs Dash Extra Spicy, smoked paprika, chili powder, cumin, and garlic powder

*Mediterranean veggies: Coriander, garlic powder, oregano

*Lemon-Dill: Lemons sliced thin and roasted with veggies, garlic powder, onion powder, dill (fresh or dried)

funny-weight-loss-w630

Links shared in this post:

Snapware Glass food storage: https://www.amazon.com/Snapware-Airtight-Leakproof-Pyrex-19-Piece/dp/B00VRVYF4S/ref=pd_sim_79_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=QM1PPJYRY892DSQGBA18 – these are my favorite!

21 day fix meal plan: http://www.daystofitness.com/21-day-fix-eating-plan/

 

diet-starts-tomorrow-23290708_xl

 

One thought on “Back up and at it. Again!

Leave a Reply

